Why Blog

Hey there,

I’m back again. I was debating on which topic I would cover today when I started asking myself why I started doing this. It’s not like I’m not already really busy. I’m terribly busy. School is starting soon and I have lesson plans to make, seating charts to decide upon, and the last time I was in my classroom, all of the desks were stacked in a corner on top of each other and my desk was in disarray.

So, why go through this trouble? There are a lot of reasons, obviously, but the one that seems to make the most sense to me right now is this: It forces me to discover what I think. All too often, we do things and decide a path to follow because it seems like the right idea. We don’t always have a rationale. As teachers, you are questioned very often why you choose to teach a particular novel, or why you grade a certain way, or…well, pretty much why you do anything. Students, parents, and administrators always wonder if you know why.

To be honest, I don’t always think about it. If I come up with something that seems like it will be fun, and educational, I just jump into it. Later, I come up with some rationale behind it. “This novel illustrates social injustice and shows the readers how just one person can make a difference.” Did I really think that when I started reading the book and decided to teach it? Maybe subconsciously, but it was not foremost in my mind.

So, my point is this:  Putting your philosophies, thoughts, plans, ideas, etc… down in a public forum forces you to make your ideas clear.  If they aren’t clear, anonymous readers will correct you, or debate with you until they are clear.  Ultimately, this should make you understand your teaching philosophy better and make you a better teacher because of it.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

1 Comment

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    August 30, 2007 at 12:15 am

    I can relate to what you wrote there. I need an outlet for my thoughts, and writing helps me not only to get them out but to clarify for myself what they are.

    Writing on a blog provides more opportunity to be creative and to write carefully, since others (few others, so far) read what I write.

    I’m also a natural born teacher. It seems like I have a drive to share with others what I know.


Leave a Reply

