Free Speech?

I was astounded to discover something today.  A disgruntled neighbor who routinely breaks the law by driving an ATV in town has decided he’s had enough of the complaints and has posted a pair of signs that read “F*CK THIS STREET”.  The signs are quite large.  Being a good citizen, and concerned that children might see these signs-especially my own–I called the police.  Unfortunately, they said, it is not profanity, so there’s nothing wrong with the sign.  I can sign a written complaint, a policeman can take a picture of the questionable sign, the states attorney can then look at the information and then decide if it should be pursued or not.  If he decides that it should, I would have to testify against this person to make the charge stick.  Even then, it would end up being a small fine.  And the offender would know I was the one who pressed charges.  He knows where I live.  This is not an acceptable risk.

Instead, I am forced to read these signs prominently displayed by a neighbor who is apparently exercising free speech.

3 Comments

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    September 6, 2007 at 5:14 am

    I agree that you are stuck. I also agree that such a sign should not be permitted in public.

  2. languagelover said,

    September 16, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Update: The signs have fallen down. I have also not seen this neighbor out and about for a while and there was some talk of him moving. Maybe he moved away…

  3. RubyShooZ said,

    September 21, 2007 at 4:11 am

    I would have been tempted to just go take down the signs myself in the dead of night if necessary – yes, I’m a usually law-abiding citizen but there are some things I do stand up for when I’m passionate about them.

    Peace and signs signs everywhere a sign….

    Peace.


Leave a Reply

