TV Dialogue

I don’t really intend to make this blog about reviews. There are enough of those already. But…Have you seen the new TV show Pushing Daisies? I had heard good things about it, so I set the DVR to record it, but only just got around to watching it this weekend. What a fantastic show. The premise is fun, the characters are wacky, but the language is simply amazing. Every word choice is clever. The name of the town, the way the narrator (Amazing actor Jim Dale) gives the characters titles “The Piemaker” at The Pie Hole and his home town called Coeur d’ Coeur or the repetitively named travel agency .

What makes me rant about this show, however, is the conversations. They are fast and furious, full of clever puns and quick retorts and if you are not paying careful attention, you will miss the subtle way in which the ex-cop Emerson explores the moral grounds on which they do almost everything. If every show on tv had this kind of language mastery, the American collective would get just a little bit smarter.

I know I feel better already.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

5 Comments

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    October 8, 2007 at 3:24 am

    I haven’t seen it, but it sounds interesting.

  2. Laura said,

    October 8, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    I watched it, but I’m not sure that I’ll watch it again.

  3. languagelover said,

    October 8, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    To be honest, I don’t really know why I included a television plug here. I don’t really want to debate the merits of tv shows. I could, of course. I just don’t want to. I guess I wanted to write something and the show was on my mind.

  4. renaissanceguy said,

    October 9, 2007 at 4:52 am

    I watched it. Very interesting. Did you think it seemed derivative of A Series of Unfortunate Events?

  5. languagelover said,

    October 13, 2007 at 1:12 am

    I hadn’t realized it in the first episode, but upon watching the second time, I found you were right. Still makes me laugh.


Leave a Reply

