Everything happens at once

Why do things all seem to pile up and happen at once?

This week, the play that I am directing is performing. This is a high stress week for me. I have a lot of things going on, in addition to the usual stresses of teaching, so I try to simplify things as much as possible. Instead, here’s what happened this week so far:

  • My daycare provider was sick, so we had to scramble to find a substitute.
  • My son got sick that same day and had to be taken home from school. My wife was in an important meeting and couldn’t leave, so I spent my prep hour taking him home.
  • I had a staff meeting that turned into a gripefest–as I have indicated previously.
  • TWENTY students asked if they could come in before school to make up missing work. Only three came.
  • The teacher whose room I share decided that today was the day to complain about how much mess I apparently make in her room, including today when I had a sub because I was busy with a matinee performance.
  • …probably a few more things that I have blocked out of my memory

These are more problems than I have any other week in the year. Why do these all happen during my most stressful week of the semester?

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

2 Comments

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    March 26, 2008 at 5:29 am

    Bad luck?

    A test from God?

    A temptation from Satan?

  2. March 29, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Ha. šŸ˜€

    This week has been much better. Apparently, my luck, or God, or Satan have all decided to be nicer to me now.


Leave a Reply

