Great Expectations

Are you a happier person if you have lower expectations?

I ask this because I have realized lately that one of the problems I’ve been having lately with my fellow teachers is that I feel that many of them seem to be fine with the status quo. They don’t want to try new things. They don’t want to reevaluate how and what they are teaching. They complain about how students perform, but they are unwilling to change their expectation level for these students.

I have higher expectations for not just myself, but the rest of the staff. I want us all to be great. I want the school to be the envy of all.

I am disappointed and weeks like this one, I get a little depressed because no one is rising to my challenge.

Would I be happier if I had lower expectations? Is that my main problem? Am I just expecting too much? Would I be happier if I settled for less? Honestly. I’m not really trying to complain here. Obviously, we should all try for better, but does that make us happier?

Thoughts?

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

2 Comments

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    March 26, 2008 at 5:32 am

    Don’t lower your expectations for youself, but don’t worry about the rest of the teaching staff. That’s my advice.

    Every year I set a goal to improve in some aspect of my teaching. I observe really great teachers and commit to implementing something that I see them do. This method of professional growth has served me well.

    The best that you can hope for is that one or two others will follow your example.

  2. March 29, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    It’s so hard to ignore the other staff. I don’t want to be a hermit, secluded in my room and focusing on my self, but when I interact with other teachers who are unchanging, grumpy, or not willing to try new things, I can’t help but be frustrated.

    I will continue to challenge myself with new goals and higher expectations. Hopefully, others will be inspired to do the same.


Leave a Reply

