Sharing Rooms

Sometimes as teachers, we aren’t given the luxury of staying in one room all day.  Maybe it’s because we don’t have enough rooms for all the teachers, or maybe you have to teach another subject in a room with different supplies.  Either way, you have to move.

This is not fun for a number of reasons.  There’s the hassle of packing up stuff and taking it with you.  You might have to prepare your room for someone else to use it while you are gone.  And you have to be a guest in someone else’s room.

That’s awkward.  You try to do your own thing, but you also have to keep in mind that you are in someone else’s room.  For me, this is particularly difficult because the teacher whose room I am sharing is a particularly neat and organized and, try as I might, I am not that kind of person.  I thought it was going all right, but today, I had a substitute.

After school, I got an email from this teacher that went on about the half an hour of cleanup that she had to do after returning to her room.  This was not the first time, she added, that she had to clean up the mess that my class left behind.  I’m trying to be calm and cool about it, but it’s irritating to me.  First of all, is an email the right way to  handle a problem like this?  Secondly, why complain on the day that I have a substitute–I mean, can I control what the sub does?

In the end, I guess all I can do is work harder to keep my class in line while I am in this other teacher’s room.  My relationship with her is damaged right now, but I just don’t feel like working to repair it.  It might be my mood right now, but that’s another post.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts. 

3 Comments

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    March 26, 2008 at 5:35 am

    I’ve shared a classroom. It stinks, whether it’s your room, the other teacher’s room, or nobody’s room.

    People like your neat colleague will complain no matter what you do; that’s what I’ve found. I suppose you could try killing her with kindness. Barring that, you will probably just have to grin and bear it.

  2. Barb said,

    March 26, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    I too have shared a room. Much like living with someone, it’s difficult at times no matter what you do to forsee/prevent issues like this.
    And you’re right; an email is not the forum for discussing something like this. I think she’s scared of confrontation but haughty enough to address it outright, behind the curtain of text. I’m probably too vocal to let something like that go. Personally, I would suggest to her )in person) that perhaps the next time she has a concern it might be better to discuss face-to-face just because it’s too easy to misunderstand text. DOESN’T EVERYONE KNOW THIS?!!! (then alas, she is ignorant also. (sigh) )

    Either way, you, being the bigger person (and I believe you are), will tough it out and win because you are obviously conscientious and professional. KUDOS.
    Renaissance Guy was right; she’s a complainer and will do so either way.

    Situation is: Delicate but solveable. Did I spell that right? 🙂

    Wishing I had a pseudonym,
    Barb

  3. March 29, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Thanks. I’m taking the long view and just knowing that I only have 8 weeks to go. I’m not sharing a room next year! On the other hand, I’m taking on a student teacher in the fall, so that’ll be a whole new set of challenges.


Leave a Reply

