Enrichment Ideas

I’ve been trying to think of things I could get the upper end students involved in. My school is going to be providing failing students with 30 minutes of time with their teachers every day. I’d like to give that same chunk of time to the other students to explore creative interests that they cannot do in classes. I’m not sure how I’ll determine who those students are, but I don’t want it to only be GPA. Standardized test scores, maybe? I don’t know. I’ve also toyed around with the idea of putting a theme together and having a presentation at the end of a semester for the public. Anyway, I’m trying to think of different activities that could be offered like these:

  • Make a documentary–maybe break into filming and editing groups
  • Make a music video–possibly three groups here: filming, editing, and playing
  • Write a play–and perform it, maybe?
  • Design websites: perhaps fix up teacher’s personal web pages to make them better, or create an informational site for this Enrichment Group, or something…
  • Design t-shirts/logos for groups–Have groups submit ideas and put together some artists to work on making those ideas work. Designing cool logos for clubs, activities, etc…
  • Bring in some local business leaders to have students work on projects in a job-like environment

I’d appreciate further ideas on this subject. How to make it happen, other kinds of projects, personal stories of things like this…anything would be helpful. Thanks!

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

