Fighting for Excellence

Mediocrity is the hardest thing in the world to fight.

I’ve been pitching ideas left and right to my administrators about ways to inspire and encourage the upper end of students.  I’m trying to do more than just offer an AP English class.  I want students to WANT more.  But I feel like I’m a single positive voice in a choir of dissent.  My fellow teachers love to talk about such things, but the discussion inevitably turns to how much we’ll get paid for this extra time we’re committing.  If we’re not getting paid, we can’t be working, right?  But there’s not money for enrichment.  It all goes to helping make sure that students pass.  Our main goal is “Good Enough.”

I can fight this.  I know I can.  I can create after school groups that do fun things.  I can pour all of my time and energy into a series of projects and get some students to create remarkable things.  But I think it would be all by myself.  I think my wife would get upset with me for all of the time I’d be giving up away from my family.  To be any good, this couldn’t be a brief time commitment, I don’t think.  I have roughly a thousand students in my school.  Even if I worked with 5%, that would be an enormous commitment  Would it ruin me to make this work?

This could be a great team effort, but I just don’t know if I can do it alone.  I already run a student writing club without compensation, because it’s the right thing to do.  I just struggle with the debates of living my life with trying to change the world.

Does any of this make sense?  I’m not even sure.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

