Lexile Scores Site

I’ve noticed that a lot of people come by my site because they are searching for lexile scores of some kind. This website seems to have a lot of good ways to search for specific books by lexile score, or find out what the lexile score of a particular book is, so go there. Just trying to help!

For those of you who don’t know, however, lexile scores may be the most misleading of book evaluations out there. For example, I could write a fairly graphic rape scene, as long as I used simple words and short simple sentences, the lexile score would be low, so you might recommend it to your 7th grade student. On the other hand, if I write a book about an autistic kid who spouts out seven syllable words now and again, the book might be ranked at a college level despite being only sixty pages long and designed for a fourth grader.

On the other hand, is there really anything better out there–other than word of mouth?

3 Comments

  1. adsoofmelk said,

    April 27, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    I’d say Amazon’s reader comments are a pretty good source of information about the book before you commit to it — very often, readers will refer to “hot spot” issues in the book.

    Then again, there’s always prereading. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. April 28, 2008 at 2:28 am

    Heaven forbid teachers actually PREread! ๐Ÿ™‚

    If all teachers were fast readers, this wouldn’t be a problem. Unfortunately, many are slower readers than their students. I’m appalled when I hear from English teachers who barely read any books all year long.

    I agree with your comment on Amazon. It’s not a bad resource and you can usually differentiate the educated readers from the cranky students.

  3. adsoofmelk said,

    April 28, 2008 at 9:18 am

    I hate the ones that are obviously classroom assignments…and I’ve repeatedly been grateful for many people’s insights. I also tend to take them more seriously than I do the professional reviewers’, because these are folks posting for no other reason than that they felt strongly about the book.


Leave a Reply

