Jay Leno’s Car

I just want to briefly point out that I watched an episode of Jay Leno this week where he discussed a new hybrid that he was driving for “Green Week.”  Apparently, you plug this car in and you can go 40 miles before you have to use gas to recharge the battery.  If this is true, this is fantastic.  How many people live in towns where they commute less than 40 miles?  I would hazard a guess that there is a large number of people for whom this is true.  I know that I, for one, usually travel less than 40 miles per week.

If the government is truly committed to “saving the planet,” shouldn’t they start offering rebates to every person who buys one of these cars?  If there were a financial incentive for the average American to buy a hybrid like the one I’m describing, wouldn’t that cut down on our oil usage?  Wouldn’t that protect the environment and help the oil crisis?

I’m not advocating for the government to buy me a car.  I’m pointing out that if the government is going to spend money to try and protect the environment, wouldn’t this be a better way to go?

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

3 Comments

  1. Jay Burns said,

    April 29, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    So instead of using oil we’ll be using coal. Or in some cases nuclear energy which creates radio-active waste. Hmm I could be wrong, but I don’t think electric is THE solution, unless we all begin to use water or wind energy for electricity.

  2. April 30, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    While I agree that it is not THE solution, I don’t think that plugging in our cars would significantly increase our electricity usage. With computers and cell phones and tvs and all of the other digital devices that we are plugging in all the time, adding a car will probably not make a noticeable difference. I don’t really know that for sure because I have no idea what kind of a drain these cars would make on your electricity.

    It very well could put us into a different crisis…but it’s better than the NO solution that we currently have.

  3. Jay Burns said,

    June 5, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    In addition. We have lots of coal. Not that we don’t have oil, but we are actually mining the coal. So, in effect, it is cheaper.


Leave a Reply

