Auditions Today

I’m holding auditions today for my fall play.  Today’s auditions are unprepared and then I’ll have another day of prepared auditions.  Prepared auditions are much easier for me, as a director.  Mostly, I find that students either really shine or really don’t.  It makes it easy to cast the play.  Unprepared auditions, though, are sort of like going on a blind date.  Without knowing anything about these people, I have to try and determine whether or not I want to spend more time with them based on an hour or so of interaction.  I have a few things that I’m looking for, but I’m also aware the people get nervous and don’t always show their best at auditions.

I try not to, but I also take into account various personal details.  Because I direct in a high school setting, I don’t always cast for the best possible play.  I could and it would go well, but there are kids who don’t fit in anywhere else and getting cast in one play in high school could make a huge difference in these students’ lives.  So, I sometimes cut a break for certain kids.  Don’t get me wrong.  They still have to have ability.  I’m not putting up a ridiculous farce of a play just to help some kid’s self-esteem.  But, if I have a kid who has a fatal disease…I’m going to pick him over a kid who might still get a chance in a play next year.

In addition, since I only work with 9th and 10th grade students, I know that the director for the older students does not cut breaks, I feel that I need to do my part to make drama a good experience for as many students as I can.  Which runs me to my final point for today:  choosing a play.  It is hard to find a good play for high school that has a large number of roles, but is not a musical.  Or inappropriate.

So.  I have auditions today.  I hope it goes well and casting comes easy.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

1 Comment

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    October 7, 2008 at 10:50 am

    I agree with your philosophy. In fact, I admire you very much for your approach. I did a bit of drama in high school, and I’m thankful that the drama teacher gave me a chance.

    I love directing. I’ll probably put on a little Christmas play where I am. I’ll need to start soon!


Leave a Reply

