Twilight: Part 3, I finally find something good

Some title, huh? I just couldn’t say it more concisely.

I came to a realization about the book Twilight today. As much as I don’t care for it, it does fall nicely into a category of which I am a big fan, so it’s pretty hypocritical of me to judge the book that way. Why have I changed my mind? It’s because I was explaining myself to one of my students about why I didn’t like it and I used a phrase which I had just used to describe why I loved a book I had just finished reading.

Escapist fantasy.

I try not to be embarrassed by reading books that are not “literary” but are fun and give me a release from the daily grind. In fact, books with a main character that I can readily identify with often give me great pleasure. While they are never on a top ten recommended list, they do provide pleasure. And there’s nothing wrong with them. Twilight provides an escape for its readers into a world they love to live in. It does just the job that good fiction ought to.

So. Read Twilight. Enjoy it. If you are reading and it brings you pleasure, it’s not all bad.

Not that I have to like it. ‘Cuz I don’t.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

3 Comments

  1. Eve said,

    October 12, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    I’m a new reader of your blog. I’m reading Twilight and am having the same experience as you. And I actually like some varieties of escapist fantasy… but there’s something about this series. Contrived? Not all it’s cracked up to be? I’m not sure. I plan to finish because one of my daughters just loves it, but I’m not sold on it.

    Still, I have to admire that the author scored financially with something like this. It does tell you something about the market these days. Vampires? Funny… and in the real world we are beset by political and financial vampires, sucking the life out of us. Fascinating.

  2. October 13, 2008 at 3:41 am

    Thanks for stopping by, Eve. You’ll have to let me know what you think once you finish the book. I still stand by my claim that this is not the best book out there for the YA reader.

  3. November 26, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Thank you for addressing this issue – the TWILIGHT issue. I am surrounded by adult (ish) women who are obsessed with these books – and my mother in law has seen the movie 2x and plans to see it again. (I would so be in her good graces if I would just succomb…I can’t even fake it!)

    Escapist fantasy – true. I try not to judge. People do what they need to do to cope. (right?)

    But dang. Bru-tal.

    Nice blog.


Leave a Reply

