My Vote

If I was to vote this election, I think I have decided which way I would go, but first I’ll explain why I don’t think I’m going to vote.

My state has not changed its vote in decades.  In fact, in the last 10 consecutive elections, North Dakota has voted Republican.  Adolf Hitler could run as the Republican candidate and my state would vote for him as long as he wore the right color tie.  Check and see how your state historically votes, if you don’t know.  Does your vote matter?

So, even if I decided to vote and I placed my vote on the Obama/Biden ticket, my vote would not matter.  Even if I vote for McCain/Palin, my vote doesn’t matter.  My state has already voted, in essence.  Not voting in my state has the exact same effect as voting.  The Electoral College makes me lose all faith in our system of electing a President.  If my vote was just one among the millions, at least it would be counted.  it would matter.

So, I am not going to wrestle with this decision as much as I might in a state that occasionally changed its collective mind.  I’m going to abstain.

Please convince me I’m wrong.  Find a way for me to have hope and faith in our system.  I can’t find any.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

3 Comments

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    October 20, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Sure, statistically and logically you are correct. However, the state of North Dakota will continue to vote the same way if everyone like you chooses to abstain. Every single vote for a candiate says something–if not on the national level, certainly on the local level. Speaking of which, do you not care about state and local offices? Your vote counts just as much as everyone else’s in those races.

  2. October 20, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Thanks, RG. I actually care a lot more about state and local offices. Election coverage always sours me on the Presidential race, but I feel like I have a real say in those votes. One vote among the thousands (ND is a small state, so I have more say in the votes here than I would in Texas, but I would still vote locally there).

    I think it all comes down to Electoral College vs Popular vote. In 2000, 35% of the voters in ND voted for Gore, but all three of our votes went to Bush. Do the math there and see my frustration. http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0876793.html

    I am coming back around to actually voting, though…just to influence the local politics that I feel I have more say in.

  3. helenl said,

    October 23, 2008 at 4:10 am

    You are wrong. Forget statistics. The most important person for whom you vote is you yourself. You matter. And If you don’t think you matter, how on earth do you think you’ll make reading a novel matter to ninth graders? Vote. Your opinion of yourself depends on action. A man of action can make the boring stuff sing. Please don’t let yourself down. Vote.


Leave a Reply

