A New Challenge

The play that I’m directing will perform this week.  I’m filled with all sorts of anxiety, but I’ve already started looking toward the next play I’ll direct.  It’s not that I’m bored with the current play, but I’ve nearly reached the point where I can’t do much more.  You work on a play for a while, but eventually it’s up to the actors to make it their own.  So, I’m looking ahead.

I’ve been thinking about directing a Shakespearean play for some time now.  As I look at the cast I’m working with and the crew that is helping them, I think I have the largest number of competent actors that I’ve worked with in some time.  There are a few shining stars in the group, but most fall under the “good enough” category.  I haven’t really gotten them  to break out of the box, but they manage to talk loudly and clearly and don’t bump into the furniture.  There’s hope, but they aren’t there, yet.

So, I’ve decided that I’m going to put on Romeo and Juliet this spring.  Not only that, but I’m leaning towards setting it in the Old West.  There are several reasons for it:  One, to make it seem more fun and appealing to the student body.  Two, to make costuming easier.  Three, to tackle the idea that Shakespeare’s plays can transcend time and space.  There’s probably more, but that’s a start.

I have a lot of ideas and questions about this and I will be blogging a lot about it.  So, be prepared!

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

1 Comment

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    November 19, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Great idea! I wish I could be there to see it.

    I am directing a small group of young kids in a Christmas play right now. It is a lot of fun.


Leave a Reply

