Feeling Cranky

As the holiday seasons approach, the random thoughts that I have had over the last few years are starting to accumulate.  In general, these thoughts run around all of the complaints that people give about celebrating holidays like Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.  It is irritating to me that I can’t celebrate these holidays without offending someone else.  Somehow, telling someone “Merry Christmas” is offensive.  It reminds me of arrogant young military men who give this joke:  “Don’t call me sir.  I work for a living.”  I always ask them if they want me to call them something less polite…

The thought that runs through my head is that I’m going to go “hog wild” one Christmas.  I’m going to decorate my classroom in Christmas decorations.  Not just Santa and Candy Canes, but Christian messages as well.  (I’m not exactly sure what…this is more of a rant than a well thought out plan) Then, all through Christmas, I will refuse to say “Happy Holidays.”  I will wish people a Merry Christmas and other offensive messages.

Why will I do this?  I’m tired of the minority’s voice being more important than the majority.  I’m tired of offending people with ridiculous things that don’t really offend anyone.  I’m tired of worrying about what I say and when I say it.

Probably I just had a bad day of dealing with stupid selfish people and I’m cranky.  So, I think I’m going to bed.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

2 Comments

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    November 19, 2008 at 9:41 am

    LOL! I have days like that.

    As you know I wrote about the “Christmas wars” last year. It does get a bit tiring to always have to be tolerant of what certain people say and do while being careful not to say or do the wrong thing–the thing that will “offend” them.

  2. Eve said,

    November 22, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    I am not careful. I say a cheerful “Merry Christmas!” to everyone! Try it and see if it helps. Don’t let folks rob you of your joy.


Leave a Reply

