Preparing for R&J

I’m preparing for auditions and trying to figure out what I want to look for and all of the usual preparatory issues. In addition, since I am adapting the script, I am also figuring out where cuts will be made, how each character will fit into my theme, the set design, etc…

The problem that I was not anticipating is the lack of faith from some of my students. The derisive eye rolls and scowls when they hear that I am not going to be putting on the traditional Elizabethan Shakespeare play. When I try to explain that the lines aren’t really changing, that I’m simply trying to show that Shakespeare can be fun and that it is effective at all times and in all places, they seem to think that I am completely out of my mind.

The faith I get from many of my students is fantastic.  They are willing to take it on faith that I know what I’m doing.  I understand that students that don’t know me might have doubts.  It’s their nature.  It’s the students that I’ve worked with, that I’ve spent time with,
that I thought I earned some respect with who are doubting me that really irritates me.  I’m pretty pumped about this project, but their doubts really bring me down.  Grr.

I guess I’ll just have to work doubly hard to prove that we’re going to put on a good show.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

