Students make me feel bad and good

Recently, I came to the conclusion that I was stretched too thin.  I have been for a bit too long, but now that my mind is clear from finishing Grad school, I’ve had time to evaluate where I’m spending my time and what the best use of my time would be.

My writing club, while fun and a lot of new challenges, just takes too much out of me.  Admittedly, the fact that the club has had to remain unofficial since I started it a few years ago because the school doesn’t want to pay me so we can’t list the club as an official school club…kind of irks me all the time.  That’s part of it.  On top of that, we had a number of technical difficulties with the blogs we were using for writing which made the club shut down for a time.  That down time made me realize how much time I was pouring into the club.  I just don’t want to.

However…I did not realize how much the club had come to mean to a couple of my students.  Two students had moved away in the last few months, but when they saw that I had mentioned that I was thinking about quitting the club, they both wrote long impassioned speeches about how much the club meant to them and how no one could replace me and their worlds were coming to an end if I was really shutting this club down.  Sigh.  Hard to argue logic with heart.

Darn students…making me care and stuff.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

