Romeo and Juliet Rehearsals

The pressure is on.  We’ve been working on reading through the Romeo and Juliet script for the last two weeks and making cuts to try and trim the play to closer to a 90 minute production, but this week we’ve started working on the actual stage.  This has been both challenging and fun.  The fun has come with seeing students really come alive with pieces of the script.  Overall, the actors are still struggling with understanding the lines and the delivery.  However, there are beginning to be moments of greatness where some combination of understanding and confidence and a bit of experimentation come together and make me smile.

On the other hand, dealing with about 25 9th and 10th graders on the stage during the Capulet party scene and trying to give actors a moment or two of specific instruction can give a guy migraines.  They try hard to not become a raging flood of screaming teenagers, but large groups and idle hands…ugh.  The metaphor that I often use for teaching and directing is that I’m just tossing a lasso around them and trying to hold on until the ride is over.  It’s going to be a long ride…I hope my rope is strong enough, because I think that I can see a beautiful view at the end.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

