Teacher Style

Occasionally, at semester time, a student will transfer from one English class to another.  Sometimes it’s because they hate the teacher and want a different one, or to make their schedule fit, or to be in the same class as a boyfriend.  Anyway, since we cover the same material per semester, more or less, it’s not that big a problem.

Or so I thought.

Yesterday, the new counselor came to me and asked if all of the English classes were the same.  I was puzzled.  “What do you mean?”  “I mean, if a student transfers from your class to someone else’s class , would it be the same?”  I explained that we might cover literature in a different order, but we teach the same stuff, more or less.  Finally, she asks, “I mean, are some classes harder than others?”  I reply, “Well, no, the Advanced classes or for tougher material.  The only difference would be teacher style.”  “Oh,” she replies.  “Is your class usually harder than other English teachers then because of your style?”

It took a moment to sink in and then I realized what was happening.  A student had transferred out my class and into a colleague’s English class.  The class was so much easier that he was worried that he’d been transfered into one of our “Fundamental English” classes.  Nope.  I just have higher expectations than my fellow teacher.  That made my day.  I’ve always thought I had higher expectations, but now it’s confirmed.  My teacher style is different than others.

So, I replied, “It’s not that my class is that much harder…I’m just a hardass and expect a lot from my students.  Other teachers have different expectations.”

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

1 Comment

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    February 17, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Good for you. Some of your students will thank you someday.


Leave a Reply

