A Heartwarming Story (Not)

Recently, my car got stuck in snow.  My friend and I were running out to a remote area that hadn’t been plowed and we got stuck.  We were unprepared, so we had to simply sit in the car and wait while another friend brought us some shovels to dig us out.  While we were waiting, a guy in a truck pulled up and rolled down his window.

“Wow,” he said. “Are you stuck?”

“Yes, we are.” We replied, while thinking to ourselves that it was kind of a stupid question, but we tried to be polite to our potential savior.

“Yeah,” he continued, “I got stuck here the other day.  I’ve got rope in my car now, just in case I need to get pulled out again.”  He nodded for a moment, as though he was considering something.  “Did you have someone coming to help you?”

“Yeah,” we replied again.  “A friend is bringing some shovels.  Hopefully, it won’t be too much longer.”

“Oh,” he said.  “Well, I could pull you out if you had any beer money.”

We stared at him blankly for a minute.  Did he really just say that? After a moment, we both replied that we didn’t have any money on us.  We hadn’t planned on being out very long, so neither of us had any money with us.

He nodded and said, “Well, I hope your friend isn’t too long.”  Then, he drove away.

My hero.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

