Professor Me

I’ve recently been hired to teach a college course.  As I usually teach high school students, this is a new and exciting challenge.  It will be to a particular group of the military.  I’m not really sure what to expect, but if I can believe any of what I’ve been told by other teachers who teach this course, many of my students will have the same, if not lower, education as my current freshmen students.  The main difference will be age and maturity…and they’ll probably call me “Sir.”

As I prepare for this course, it does a great job of making me reevaluate what I teach once again.  What is important?  Since I’m teaching an 8-week course, I have to really limit what I’m going to try and squeeze in there.  Oddly enough, this is the same thing I’ve been doing with my own high school classes lately.  I think this will be a good experience…but I don’t really know what is going to happen.  I’m keeping both my hopes and my expectations high and I’m prepping like a crazy person.

So, for those of you loyal fans out there, I may go on hiatus for a bit.  I’m not sure how busy I’ll get when this starts next week, but I’m assuming I’ll be pretty busy.  If summer ever comes, I may have to wait until then to post.  Or not.  We’ll see.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

1 Comment

  1. Scott Erb said,

    March 29, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Well, I teach political science for a university, but it sounds like this is a unique kind of course in that it is short and focused on a group in the military. In general, be yourself and focus on what you find most compelling. I have a lot of respect for high school teachers, in college you have a lot more freedom and you can expect students to be motivated (and its not your problem if they aren’t or if they skip class…). Good luck!


Leave a Reply

