Idle Hands

Those who know me are aware that I’m always biting off more than I should chew.  Notice the use of the word “should”.  I can almost always handle the multiple projects I’m tackling, but it means that my days start early, run late, and I get run down at times because I hit the peak of multiple things to do and I fly from one thing to another just trying to keep up.  Most of the people I know think that I am nuts for doing this.  And, for the most part, I agree.

However.

I wonder two things when I look at my schedule:  One.  Will I regret not doing something for sake of having “free time”?  I always try to live by the philosophy that you should not look back in regret at things you could have done, but didn’t.  That doesn’t mean that I do everything I want, but if it’s important enough that I will regret it, I try to make it happen.  Two.  Am I happier when I’m busy?  When I am involved in multiple projects, I am usually more productive.  During my down time parts of the year, I often don’t accomplish very much.  I take advantage of the free time by watching more tv and surfing the internet.  Time drags by.  But, when I’m busy, I carefully use the time I have to accomplish my goals and have very little wasted time during the day.

So, I think it’s better to be busy.  But not all people feel that way.  I obviously think I’m right, but I wonder if there’s a valid argument for being less busy. Hmm.  Too busy and tired.  Time to move on.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

