Retreat Discussions

I’m getting ready to go to an educational retreat.  I’m excited about it, but also apprehensive.  It comes down to a problem of language.  With educators, I find that the language that is used can fall into two categories:  highly educated, vocabulary laden, book talkers, or those who talk less formally.  I don’t think either of these things have anything to do with intelligence or education, necessarily, but they do often create a bit of tension between groups.

I’ve been through grad school.  I have a lot of terminology at my disposal, but I just don’t like to talk that way.  It takes a shift of mental gears for me to become comfortable in that area.  It just seems more formal and I hate formality.  In general, I work harder to simplify terminology and talk plainly.

However, if most people are of the other persuasion, I’ll have to shift gears and start dropping the $100 words again.  It’s not that I’m a slave to peer pressure.  It’s just that I don’t think my opinions will carry as much weight if I sound as though I’m less intelligent.

Another issue is that most of the other people attending are college professors, most of whom have doctorates.  Not all of those respect the high school teacher.  I’m hoping it will be a conference with lots of friendly, open-minded people, but as it gets closer, I do get a little nervous about it.

Well, either way, another day and a half and I’ll be on my way there.  Hopefully, it goes well.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

1 Comment

  1. gls said,

    July 28, 2009 at 6:48 am

    The ironies of the world of education: the more educated one becomes, the less accessible (and thus, less educating) one becomes…

    I hate jargon, but it’s often a necessary evil. What’s most annoying are those individuals who don’t drop the polysyllabic babbling when you’re having drinks after the conference…


Leave a Reply

