Happy Moments

One of the things I liked about the film Dangerous Minds was the very end.  Feel free to look up the exact quote, but I remember it being something like “How did they convince you to stay?”  She replies, “They gave me chocolate and called me the light.”  To me, it might have been a little idealistic, but it really represents what I call a good day.

Today, a student that I had one year before he moved away came back to see me.  He was back in town and wanted to see “his favorite English teacher.”  We sat and talked about what he’d been up to and then he went on his way.  We had a nice visit.  I couldn’t help but have a big grin on my face after he left.

He was a success story for me.  He didn’t go to college.  He won’t write the great American novel.  Why do I think of him as a success story?

When I met him, I didn’t think he’d finish the year.  I thought he was headed for prison.  He was trouble.  Now, he graduated and is working a job and supporting himself.  Way higher than my expectations.  Makes me happy.  It doesn’t take much, really, but it’s enough.  Did I have a part in his success?  I don’t know, but the fact that he remembers me as a high point of his life, makes me think I helped.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

2 Comments

  1. ptola said,

    September 12, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    An interesting coincidence; I was just thinking today about a guidance counselor I had a few years back – I saw her almost every day during a rather chaotic time in my life and she introduced me to the college I now attend. I’m doing much better now as a result of being here, and thought about emailing her to thank her, and then thought again that it might be a little strange… now, after reading your post, I think I will. Thanks.

  2. September 12, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    I guarantee that you will make her day.


Leave a Reply

