Weekly Teaching Goals

I have an idea that I’m going to try and implement.  Each week, I’m going to write a specific goal for each class.  For example, one goal might be “Students will be able to identify the use of irony in fiction and explain its use.”  That week, I will focus on that skill as I teach that week.  At the end of the week, I would give a formative test to determine if their learning hit the target.  I could build on each week’s goals and add it to the next week, so that I was also continuing to test the previous goals.

Would this work?  Is it too hard?  Would I be able to make specific goals and proper tests to make it work?  I’m not sure.  I think I’m going to try it, though.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

1 Comment

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    September 27, 2009 at 12:02 am

    It works for many teachers. It takes self-discipline to stick to it.

    I always have my objective in mind, but I am not always meticulous about writing it down and tracking progress specifically on that object.


Leave a Reply

