Making Me Care

I started a student writing club several years ago.  At the time, several other teachers told me they would be happy to help, as long as I was at the helm, taking care of the responsibility of leadership.  I thought it was a good idea, so I did it.

The students thought it was a great club, but the help from other teachers dwindled to nothing.  It became a lot of work from me and added a lot of stress to my day.  Last year, we had a conflict from the administration that stopped the club from meeting for several months (They weren’t against it, they just didn’t realize they were causing a problem.)  During that time, I realized how much more relaxed I was.  So, at the end of the year, I announced that I was retiring from the club.  No other teachers stepped up to take over, so the club died.

I thought it was done and over. Occasionally, someone would stop and ask if the club was still going and I would shake my head sadly and say no.

This weekend, however, a group of club members emailed me that they had taken it upon themselves to try and start the club up again themselves.  Since they needed support from a teacher, or the administration wouldn’t let them do anything on school grounds, they approached me and asked if I would be willing to start it up again.  They would take up the bulk of the work, they said, but they wanted me to be part of it and needed me to make it happen.  Would I help them, please?

Sigh.  Once again, kids are pulling at my heartstrings, trying to make me do something that is good.  I know it will be more work than they think it is.  I know it will carve up more of my free time–little that there is.  I also don’t know how I can say no.

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

