Philadelphia Conference

I will be attending the NWP and NCTE conferences this week in Philadelphia.  This year, I’m focusing on the NWP portion of it rather than the NCTE portion as I did last time I attended.  I’m not really sure what to expect, but I hope to be busy and learn many things.  I also hope for free stuff.  Whoo!  Mostly, I like meeting authors and getting copies of their books after talking with them about writing.  It’s fun to bring those stories back to my classroom.  Gets kids excited to read them.  Since I’m focusing on writing project stuff, I hope to get some new writing ideas.  Something.

This is also my first trip to Philadelphia.  I”m hoping to catch the sights.  I don’t have a real plan for anything.  I’m just thinking I’ll wander around and look at stuff.  Hopefully, I’ll remember my camera.

I hope to write about it when I return on Sunday.  Until then…

I am the language lover and these are my thoughts.

3 Comments

  1. renaissanceguy said,

    December 1, 2009 at 7:29 am

    Hi, I have tagged you.

    http://renaissanceguy.wordpress.com/2009/11/30/creative-writing-exercise/

  2. Mike Lovell said,

    December 1, 2009 at 10:40 am

    For those of us that are new to reading your blog and a little uninfomred, what exactly are the NWP and NCTE?

    Also, I have never been to Philadelphia, but having an old coworker out in that area now, I may take the family there for a vacation, take in the sites, cultural and historical, and maybe hit NYC and Boston while we’re out that way.

    Luckily fo rme, I have a camera fanatic for a wife, so forgetting the camera is never an issue! 😉

  3. December 1, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Hey Mike, glad you asked. National Writing Project and National Council of Teachers of English. I should have hyper-linked them.

    I enjoyed my time in Philly. If you like history, there are plenty of sites to take in for free and within easy walking distance of each other. I should post something about this soon.

    Oh, and I did forget my camera. Curses!


Leave a Reply

