Digital vs Face-to-Face Conversations

We’re having parent/teacher conferences this week.  We weren’t sure what to expect for tonight.  Would there be many parents?  With all of the modern technology providing online grades, emails with teachers, websites with lesson plans, etc…would parents even need to come and visit with teachers?

Apparently, the answer is yes.  Many of the conversations were obvious based on the grades posted online, but parents still prefer to meet face to face.  So far, anyway.  Will this change?  I don’t know.  There is something to be said for meeting this person who will be spending so much time with your child.  Especially when said child comes home and talks about that teacher.  It’s good to meet the person and get your own feeling about them.

That’s how I feel as a parent.  As a teacher, I have to admit, I find that most of the conferences are not the best use of my time.  I only meet with a small percentage of the parents that I need to meet with.  So, is it worth it?  I’m not sure.

Either way, it doesn’t seem to be changing any time soon.

Leave a Reply

